AEK Athens

AEK Athens

AEK Athens is one of the most successful basketball clubs in the history of Greece. It was founded almost 100 years ago, in 1924, by some Greek refugees from Constantinople and since then it has had a strong relationship with the political side. AEK Athens currently plays in Nikos Galis Olympic Indoor Hall, an arena that has almost 19,000 seats and has some of the best fans in Greece.

Over time, AEK Athens has won 16 titles: 1 FIBA Intercontinental Cup, 2 FIBA Saporta Cups, 1 FIBA Champions League, 8 Greek Championships, and 4 Greek Cups. The last trophies won by the Greek team are the Greek Cup and the FIBA Champions League in 2018 and the FIBA Intercontinental Cup in 2019.

Some of the best players in AEK Athens’ history are Ricky Pierce, Kurt Rambis, Joe Arlauckas, Pero Antic, Dimitris Papanikolaou,  Vassilis Goumas, and so on. Right now, the team is coached by Luca Bianchi and the captain is Dusan Sakota. The other players on the roster are Delroy James, Vassilis Xanthopoulos, Georgios Tsalmpouris, Jonas Maciulis, Giannoulis Larentzakis, Dimitrios Moraitis, Vassilis Kavvadas, Jordan Theodore, Howard Sant-Roos, Nikos Rogkavopoulos, Charis Giannopoulos, and Vince Hunter.

Right now, in the Greek League, AEK Athens stands on the second place while in Champions League they are qualified into the quarterfinals of the competition.

David Istrate