Zalgiris Kaunas

This Lithuanian club is the most famous club of the country and one of the oldest in Europe, being founded in 1944. Zalgiris has an A licence which allows them to participate every year in the Euroleague season. The club is well-known because of his players who made the step to the NBA. During the modern era, Zalgiris provided to the best league in the world 8 Lithuanian players.

The most representative names which have start their carrer at juniors and/or seniors at Zalgiris are Arvydas Sabonis, Šarūnas Jasikevičius, Šarūnas Marčiulionis, Zydrunas Ilgauskas, Darius Songaila, Donatas Motiejūnas, Mindaugas Kuzminskas and Martynas Andriuškevičius.

Zalgiris won many Lithuanian league title and USSR trophies during the communist era, when Lithuania was part of the big Soviet “empire”. In the modern times, Zalgiris won the Euroleague in 1998-1999, Fiba Saporta Cup in 1997-1998 and Fiba Intercontinental Cup in 1986.

The most important Lithuanian players who activated for Zalgiris in European competitions are: Paulius Jankūnas (who is still playing his 15th season with the club), Rimas Kurtinaitis, Arvydas Sabonis, Artūras Milaknis and Dainius Šalenga.

Last year (2018), the club under the command of the head coach Sarunas Jasikevicius had reached the Final 4 of the Euroleague, winning the 3rd place in the main competition of Europe.

Graţian Cormoş,

Zalgiris Kaunas