Maccabi Tel Aviv

Maccabi Tel Aviv is, without any doubts, the greatest Israeli team in history. The Israeli Basketball Super League was founded in 1954, and since then, Maccabi Tel Aviv won the championship 52 times and the cup 44 times. Also, the club situated in the Capital of Israel has 6 EuroLeague titles, 1 Intercontinental Cup, and 1 Adriatic League title.

Some of the best players that have been at least one season at Maccabi Tel Aviv are Tal Brody, Miki Merkovich, Earl Williams, Motti Aroesti, Doron Jamchi, Hen Lippin, Nate Huffman, Constantin Popa, Sarunas Jasikevicius, Omri Casspi, Nikola Vujcic, Tal Burstein, Anthony Parker, Keith Langford, and Tyrese Rice.

The best years of Maccabi Tel Aviv were between 1970 and 1992 when this club managed to win 23 consecutive league titles. Also, they became the first team outside of the NBA to ever win against an organization from that league. The second best period of the Israeli team was between 2000 and 2010. In this time-span, Maccabi Tel Aviv won three EuroLeague titles (2001, 2004, 2005), 9 Israeli League Championships, 7 Israeli Cups, and 1 Israeli League Cup.

Right now, Maccabi Tel Aviv is not in a very good form, as in this decade they haven’t won as much as in the past. The general manager is Nikola Vujcic, the coach is Ioannis Sfairopoulos, and the captain of the team is John DiBartolomeo. The other players on the roster are Kendrick Ray, Scottie Wilbekin, Jeremy Pargo, Johnny O’Bryant III,  Angelo Caloiaro, Michael Roll, DeAndre Kane, Deni Avdija, Alex Tyus, Jake Cohen, Dori Sahar, Tarik Black, and Yovel Zoosman.

Currently, Maccabi Tel Aviv shares the first position in the Israeli league, with Hapoel Holon, while in EuroLeague, the team is on the 10th place, very close to the playoffs. Also, Maccabi Tel Aviv lost this season both in the Israel Cup and in the League Cup.

David Istrate

Maccabi Tel-Aviv