CSKA Moscow

PBC CSKA Moscow (Russian – ПБК ЦСКА Москва) is the most known Russian basketball team. The team is based in Moskow, and was founded in April 23, 1923, as the Red Army’s official sports club. The club is playing in the VTB United League (the first tier for Russian and some ex-Soviet Union basketball clubs) and in the EuroLeague.

CSKA Moskow is the most successful team in Russia and in the former Soviet Union, with 49 home league championships. The team is dominating the VTB United League, winning 9 titles in total, 7 home cups, one NEBL championship, and, most important, 7 EuroLeague championships, turning CSKA into one of the most successful teams in the history of the European basketball.

Between 2006 and 2008, CSKA Moskow won two EuroLeague titles, in Europe’s main club competition, making also the finals in all four seasons. The team has advanced to the EuroLeague Final Four 16 times in the 21st century.

The Moskow team is playing in two arenas, the Universal Sports Hall CSKA (capacity: 5500) and the Megasport Arena (capacity: 13 344). The team is owned by the powerful mining company Norilsk Nickel, having been previously owned by Russian billionaire Mikhail Prokhorov.

CSKA Moskow won its first EuroLeague title in 2006, defeating Maccabi Tel Aviv (73 – 69). The team reached 8 consecutive EuroLeague Final Fours from 2003 to 2010, an all-time European record. The club won its last up-to-date EuroLeague title in 2016, after beating Fenerbahce in the final (in overtime, by 101 – 96).

Over the years, famous players have played for the club, including: Sergei Belov, Gennadi Volnov, Viktor Zubkov, Yuri Korneev, Vladimir Andreev, Anatoly Myshkin, Stanislav Yeryomin, Ivan Edeshko, Alzhan Zharmukhamedov, Sergei Tarakanov, Rimas Kurtinaitis, Vladimir Tkachenko, Sergei Bazarevich, Sasha Volkov, Andrei Kirilenko, Trajan Langdon, Darius Songaila, Gordan Giriček, Dragan Tarlać, Marcus Brown, Ramūnas Šiškauskas, Theo Papaloukas, Nenad Krstić, Miloš Teodosić and Nando de Colo.